Emulsion, a collision and fusion of Jazz and Contemporary Classical music, presented, composed and conceived by Ensemble Amorpha, Tangent, Food and Fringe Magnetic. Premier at the Vortex Jazz Club London, 19 May 2012.

Emulsion is a new platform for composition and improvisation. For the first Emulsion in 2012, Iain Ballamy will be guest of honour and we are extremely luck to have him join us again in 2013. Funded by the PRS for Music Foundation, four new commissions from Iain Ballamy, Trish Clowes, Rory Simmons and Luke Styles were premiered in 2012 alongside existing music from contemporary jazz groups Tangent and Fringe Magnetic and contemporary classical group Ensemble Amorpha. Emulsion presents a new experience and different way to listen to the music from these groups, showing how the use of electronics, improvisation and contemporary art music can exist in the same space and/or interact with each other.

Emulsion II took place at Kings Place on the 12th of May at 4pm.


Luke Styles - Chasing The Nose

Alasdair Nicholson - The Twittering Machine

Kaija Saariaho - Oi Kuu

Stockhausen - Aus Den Sieben Tagen

Trish Clowes - Small Pieces of Wood

Chris Mayo - Birchfield Close (World Premiere)

Ensemble Amorpha Musicians
Julia Crowell - flute
Tom Lessels - clarinets
Lauren Weavers - oboe
Louise McMonagle - cello
Kira Doherty - horn

With special guests
Ian Ballamy - saxophone
Chris Montague - guitar
James Maddren - drum kit
Calum Gourlay - double bass

Listen to newly commissioned tracks from Emulsion 2012

Chasing The Nose by Luke Styles

Emulsion 2012 by trishclowes

Emulsion’s development scheme for musicians is supported by the Jerwood Charitable Foundation and our new works are supported by the PRS for Music Foundation.

More information can be found at these websites:


jerwoodcharitablefoundation.org (current projects/small grants scheme)